About us

The Collegium Politicum (CP) is a scientific network devoted to the study of ancient political theory and its reception in the history of political thought, with special emphasis on its impact on modern Europe. The network is made up of several universities and research centers, each represented by a person who coordinates research in the field at her/his institution.

The network was established in 2000 on the initiative of Francisco Lisi who has subsequently served as its main coordinator.

The bulk of CP activity consists in organizing meetings on an annual basis. These are aimed not only at discussing the central themes of the classical political thought but also at establishing and sustaining a community of classicists, philosophers, historians and lawyers who share similar scientific interests and who can take advantage of meeting regularly.

The group is also responsible for editing the series published by Academia Verlag Sankt Augustin and additional volumes and series (details here).

The group is represented by a president elected for a one-year period who is supposed to organize and host the  meeting of the CP. The highest body of the CP is the general assembly consisting of representatives of the member institutions which convenes once a year, typically during the annual meeting of the CP. It is responsible for taking key decisions concerning the general strategy of the CP and elects the president for the next period and thus the venue of the next meeting.


Member institutions and their representatives

Lucio Bertelli (Univ. Torino)

Luc Brisson (CNRS Paris)

Gennaro Carillo (Univ. degli Studi suor Orsola Benincasa-Napoli)

Michele Curnis (Univ. Carlos III de Madrid)

Arianna Fermani (Univ. degli studi di Macerata)

Silvia Gastaldi (Univ. Pavía)

Giovanni Giorgini (Univ. Bologna)

Christoph Horn (Univ. Bonn)

Jakub Jinek (Univ. Pardubice)

Manuel Knoll (Sehir Univ. Istanbul)

Veronika Konrádová (Purkyně Univ. Ústí nad Labem)

Alberto Maffi (Univ. di Milano-Bicocca)

Ermanno Malaspina (Univ. di Torino)

Maurizio Migliori (Univ. di Macerata)

Josep Monserrat Molas (Univ. de Barcelona)

Jean-François Pradeau (Univ. Lyon- III)

Eckart Schütrumpf (University of Colorado Boulder)

Bernat Torres (Univ. Internacional de Catalunya)

María José Vega (Univ. Autònoma de Barcelona)

Barbara Zehnpfennig (Universität Passau)


Former members of the Collegium Politicum

† Slobodan Dusanic (Univ. Belgrade)

† Aleš Havlíček (Purkyně Univ. Ústí nad Labem)

† Ada Neschke-Hentschke (Univ. Lausanne)

† Mario Vegetti (Univ. de Pavía)